CCMTA - RSS

Stratégie

La troisième stratégie nationale de sécurité routière du Canada, d’une durée utile de cinq ans (2011-2015), présente d’importantes différences à ses deux plans prédécesseurs. Cette stratégie est similaire en ce sens qu’elle conserve cette vision à long terme d'un Canada doté des routes les plus sûres au monde, ainsi que les quatre objectifs stratégiques qui visent à rendre plus sécuritaires le comportement des usagers de la route, l’infrastructure routière et les véhicules. Les objectifs sont :

  • de sensibiliser le public aux questions relatives à la sécurité routière et susciter son engagement,
  • d'améliorer la communication, la coopération et la collaboration entre tous les intervenants,
  • de renforcer les mesures d'application des lois,
  • de améliorer la qualité de l'information sur la sécurité routière et soutenir la recherche et l’évaluation.

La Stratégie de sécurité routière 2015 est différente de la Vision sécurité routière (VSR) 2010 parce qu’elle offre aux administrations provinciales et territoriales une plus grande souplesse de mise en œuvre. Elle ne contient plus d’objectifs fixes à l’échelle nationale qui s’imposent ensuite comme objectifs pour chaque province ou territoire. L’aspect novateur du nouveau cadre directeur repose sur sa capacité à atteindre des tendances annuelles à la baisse pour les décès et les blessures graves, selon les données enregistrées à l’échelle nationale. De plus, les progrès seront mesurés en fonction de taux de rendement, au lieu d’employer l’ancienne pratique qui consistait à établir des pourcentages cibles de réduction ensuite convertis en chiffres absolus en matière de réduction de décès et de blessures graves de la route.

La Stratégie de sécurité routière fournira aux administrations routières un cadre axé sur les meilleures pratiques pour qu’elles puissent chacune l’adopter ou l’adapter à leurs propres enjeux en matière de sécurité routière. L’efficacité de certaines de ces pratiques a déjà été démontrée. Pour d’autres, les données sur leur efficacité ne sont pas encore disponibles. Selon la Stratégie de sécurité routière 2015, chaque administration routière sera responsable de son propre plan et aura aussi la possibilité de mettre en place ses propres objectifs quantitatifs de réduction du nombre de victimes durant les cinq ans de la stratégie.

Sommaire

La Stratégie de sécurité routière 2015 du Canada vise à faire en sorte que le nombre d’usagers de la route mortellement ou grièvement blessés lors de collisions sur les routes canadiennes continue de baisser.

Depuis 2008, le Conseil canadien des administrateurs en transport motorisé (CCATM) a mis en œuvre un processus de consultation auprès des membres du gouvernement et des membres des corps d’ingénieurs et de police, ainsi qu’auprès des intervenants clés de l’industrie, dans le but de définir le nouveau cadre d’orientation de la stratégie de sécurité routière. Le Conseil des ministres responsables des transports et de la sécurité routière a endossé la Stratégie de sécurité routière en septembre 2010.

La Stratégie de sécurité routière est semblable aux précédentes à plusieurs égards. Tout d’abord, il vise toujours à long terme de doter le Canada des routes les plus sûres au monde. En deuxième lieu, les objectifs de fond de la stratégie VSR 2010 se poursuivront à titre d’objectifs dans le nouveau plan. Les voici :

Souplesse : La stratégie est assortie d’une plus grande souplesse que son prédécesseur.

La structure de la stratégie est différente en ce sens qu’elle offre une plus grande souplesse. La stratégie décrit les meilleures pratiques et les initiatives que les administrations auront la latitude d’adopter en fonction de leur pertinence, de leur faisabilité et de leur acceptabilité au sein de leurs régions respectives. Chaque administration élaborera et «possédera» son propre plan de sécurité routière.

Une approche holistique : La stratégie adopte une approche beaucoup plus intégrée en matière de sécurité routière.

La Stratégie de sécurité routière emploie une approche intégrée et propose des initiatives coordonnées pour répondre aux enjeux concernant les usagers de la route, les infrastructures et les véhicules. Ceci tient compte du caractère d’interdépendance qui existe entre les conducteurs, les routes et la conception de véhicules sécuritaires, ce qui aura pour effet de faire évoluer la nouvelle Stratégie de sécurité routière 2015 vers un environnement de «systèmes sûrs». En effet, la Stratégie de sécurité routière est le résultat d’une très grande collaboration entre le CCATM, la collectivité policière, la communauté des ingénieurs et les intervenants de la sécurité routière.

Cibles : Les objectifs de réduction de pourcentage fixe ne seront pas déterminés à l’échelle nationale. Les progrès seront calculés à l'échelle nationale à l'aide de taux.

Contrairement aux plans précédents, la Stratégie de sécurité routière ne contient pas d’objectifs basés sur des pourcentages fixes, mais tentera plutôt de développer des tendances à la baisse en ce qui concerne les décès et les blessures graves, au cours de sa durée de cinq ans. La tendance à la baisse sera calculée en utilisant des mesures basées sur des taux. Les administrations continueront de transmettre à Transports Canada des rapports annuels sur les décès et les blessures graves. Un rapport sur les progrès nationaux liés à la diminution des décès et des blessures graves sera produit en employant une méthode calculant les taux d’incidence. Même si la Stratégie de sécurité routière 2015 n’établit pas d’objectifs quantitatifs fixes, contrairement à la VSR 2010, cela n’empêchera pas pour autant les administrations d’établir leurs propres objectifs. 

Meilleures pratiques : Le cœur de la stratégie consiste en un cadre de stratégies axées sur les meilleures pratiques dont les autorités compétentes pourront se servir pour aborder la question des risques principaux liés à la sécurité routière et à la question des groupes à risque.

Au cœur de la Stratégie de sécurité routière se trouve une structure de meilleures pratiques conçues pour les groupes cibles clés, ainsi que les facteurs connexes qui contribuent aux décès et aux blessures graves sur les routes du Canada. La structure a été conçue, et compte une variété d’initiatives routières qui ont démontré leur efficacité sur les routes du Canada et/ou sur celles d’autres pays de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE), qui se basent sur une analyse environnementale globale effectuée par le CCATM. La nature même de la structure en fait un document fluide qui sera régulièrement mis à jour tout au long de sa durée de cinq ans, à mesure que de nouvelles stratégies de sécurité routière seront mises en œuvre dans les pays de l’OCDE ou en fonction des évaluations des stratégies existantes et de leur efficacité à réduire le nombre de décès et de blessures graves.

Possession : Quoique la stratégie a été développée et sera gérée par le CCATM, chaque administration se l’appropriera et se servira du cadre des meilleures pratiques pour établir ses propres plans.

À titre d’organisme responsable de la Stratégie de sécurité routière, le CCATM, oeuvrant en collaboration avec les autres administrations, ses comités et groupes de travail, se chargera de tenir la stratégie à jour. Grâce à cette structure souple et proactive, les mises à jour peuvent comprendre la documentation concernant les progrès des nouveaux projets de recherche, l’identification de nouvelles initiatives à intégrer dans la matrice multicellulaire des groupes cibles clés et des facteurs connexes, l’examen du cadre des meilleures pratiques éprouvées et le rapport faisant état des progrès.

Délai d’exécution de cinq ans :

La Stratégie s'échelonnera sur cinq ans, ce qui représente une date d'échéance plus courte que le plan précédent.

On s’attend à ce que la Stratégie de sécurité routière devienne une source d’inspiration pour les intervenants en sécurité routière de tous les ordres de gouvernement aussi bien que pour les intervenants clés des secteurs privé et public, et qu’il les incitera à travailler ensemble dans le but d’atteindre l’objectif commun de doter le Canada des routes les plus sûres au monde.

Histoire

En 1996, le Canada a fixé un objectif de sécurité routière ayant pour objet de doter le Canada «des routes les plus sûres au monde». Dans cette optique, les administrations provinciales et territoriales, sous les auspices du Conseil canadien des administrateurs en transport motorisé (CCATM), en collaboration avec les autres intervenants clés, comme les forces de l’ordre et les organismes de sécurité routière, visent à réaliser cette vision par l’intermédiaire des plans de sécurité routière.  

La Vision sécurité routière 2001, premier plan national de sécurité routière nationale du Canada, a été adopté en 1996 par le Conseil des sous-ministres responsables des transports et de la sécurité routière. À la suite de la mise en œuvre de ce plan, le nombre de décès de la route a diminué de 10  % et les blessures graves de 16 %, et ce, malgré la hausse constante du nombre d’usagers de la route.

En octobre 2000, le Conseil des ministres responsables des transports et de la sécurité routière a approuvé la Vision sécurité routière 2010. On y a retenu la vision et les objectifs stratégiques du plan précédent et on y a ajouté un objectif national général et des sous-objectifs. Les objectifs quantitatifs proposés dans ce plan avaient pour but de fournir aux intervenants de la sécurité routière des données de référence sur les principaux indicateurs de sécurité routière, permettant ainsi de mesurer les effets des efforts d’intervention.

L’objectif national visait à atteindre une baisse de 30 % du nombre moyen des usagers de la route tués ou grièvement blessés durant la période 2008-2010, par rapport aux statistiques de la période 1996-2001. Les sous-objectifs proposaient des réductions variant de 20 % à 40 % par domaine d’intervention, y compris la protection des occupants, la conduite avec facultés affaiblies, la sécurité des véhicules commerciaux, les usagers vulnérables de la route, la vitesse et la sécurité aux intersections, la sécurité routière en milieu rural, les jeunes conducteurs et les conducteurs présentant un risque élevé. L’atteinte de ces objectifs devait réduire le nombre de décès sur les routes canadiennes à moins de 2 100 en 2010.

À la suite de l’examen mi-mandat du plan et à la lecture d’indicateurs démontrant qu’on ne faisait plus de progrès, les administrations ont conjugué leurs efforts pour réduire davantage les décès et blessures graves en s’attaquant plus particulièrement aux sujets les plus préoccupants : l’alcool au volant, la vitesse excessive et la non-utilisation des ceintures de sécurité. Les données les plus récentes semblent indiquer d’importants progrès dans ces domaines. Les statistiques de décès de la route pour 2007 étaient de 6 % inférieures aux données de référence et les blessures graves affichaient une réduction de près de 15 %. 

La Vision sécurité routière du Canada a aussi joué un rôle important en améliorant la perception que les forces policières avaient des préoccupations en matière de circulation sans danger. Dans un effort d’atteindre les objectifs de la Vision, les forces policières ont pour la plupart modifié leur modèle d’application des services de contrôle de la circulation : d’une stratégie de patrouille qui se faisait au hasard, elles ont adopté un modèle de service d’équipe où l’on combine l’analyse de l’information à l’éducation et aux stratégies d’application de la loi en vue d’intervenir auprès d’enjeux bien précis au moyen d’interventions ciblées.   

Le cœur de la stratégie est formé d’un cadre de référence axé sur les meilleures pratiques, comprenant une matrice multicellulaire de groupes cibles clés et de questions de sécurité routière ou de facteurs connexes, ainsi qu’une gamme variée d’initiatives de sécurité routière dont les administrations pourront se servir pour répondre à leurs propres priorités. Chaque administration aura la latitude d’adopter les initiatives et les stratégies en fonction de leur pertinence, de leur faisabilité et de leur acceptabilité.

Vision

La vision des intervenants en sécurité routière du Canada est d’avoir «les routes les plus sûres au monde». Cette vision représente un idéal, qui n’a pas à être obligatoirement atteint dans le délai d’exécution de la Stratégie de sécurité routière.

Le rapport intitulé Towards Zero: Ambitious Road Safety Targets and the Safe System Approach déclare que «les pays de l’OCDE et du Forum international des transports (ITF) englobent une vaste gamme d’économies avec des différences substantielles en matière de performance de sécurité routière. Les pays avec les meilleurs records ont des taux de décès d’environ 5-7 tués pour 100 000 habitants.»

Afin d’établir un contexte pour la vision d’avoir les routes les plus sûres au monde, le Canada devrait atteindre un taux de 5 décès pour 100 000 habitants. En 2007, le nombre total de décès était fixé à 2 767 – en d’autres mots, un taux de décès comparable à 8,4 pour 100 000 habitants. Pour que le Canada atteint la cible de 5 décès ou moins pour 100 000 habitants, une réduction additionnelle de 1 120 décès aurait été requise en 2007.

Cette vision nationale représente le désir du Canada de faire tout son possible pour être le leader mondial de la sécurité routière. Bien que cette vision ne peut être atteinte dans l’immédiat, elle souligne le désir pour les meilleurs résultats possibles en matière de sécurité routière pour toutes les administrations canadiennes.

La Stratégie de sécurité routière sert de ligne directrice aux intervenants de tous les ordres de gouvernement et des secteurs privé ou public pour qu’ils travaillent ensemble en vue d’atteindre le but de rendre les routes du Canada plus sûres. La meilleure façon de mettre cette vision en œuvre est de lancer des initiatives répondant à ses 4 objectifs stratégiques.

À l’échelle nationale, la stratégie sert de mesure incitative aux comités permanents du CCATM et aux groupes de travail pour qu’ils collaborent à l’élaboration et à l’implantation des nombreuses initiatives et d’interventions concentrées visant à améliorer la sécurité sur les routes canadiennes.

CCMTA - RSS

Strategy

Canada’s third national road safety strategy, which has a five-year timeframe (2011-2015), is somewhat different from its two predecessors. The  strategy is similar in that it will retain the long-term vision that Canada will have the safest roads in the world.  As well, the four strategic objectives are expected to result in safer road users, safer road infrastructure and safer vehicles through:

  • raising public awareness and commitment to road safety,
  • improving communication, cooperation and collaboration among all stakeholders,
  • enhancing enforcement,
  • improving road safety information in support of research and evaluation.

Road Safety Strategy (RSS) 2015 differs from Road Safety Vision (RSV) 2010 because it is considerably more flexible for jurisdictions to use. It no longer includes targets set at the national level that then become de-facto targets for each province/territory. Rather, the success of the new framework will be measured by achieving yearly downward trending in fatalities and serious injuries, as reported at the national level. In addition, progress will be determined using rate-based measures, rather than the previous practice of setting percentage-based targets and translating these into actual numbers of fatalities and serious injuries.

The Road Safety Strategy will provide jurisdictions with a framework of best practices which each jurisdiction can adopt or adapt to address its specific road safety challenges. Some of the best practices have been proven effective and for others, measured effectiveness is not yet available. With the Road Safety Strategy 2015, jurisdictions will have the responsibility for their respective plans and also have the option of developing their own quantitative targets for specific casualty reductions during the five-year timeframe, if they wish to do so.

Summary

The Road Safety Strategy’s ultimate goal is to continue to reduce fatalities and serious injuries caused by collisions on Canada’s roads.

Since 2008, the Canadian Council of Motor Transport Administrators (CCMTA) has undertaken consultations with its government members, along with members of the engineering and police community, as well as key industry stakeholders, to develop a road safety strategy framework to succeed Road Safety Vision 2010. The Council of Ministers Responsible for Transportation and Highway Safety endorsed the Road Safety Strategy (RSS) 2015 in September 2010.

The Road Safety Strategy is similar to its predecessors in a number of ways. First, it retains the long-term vision of making Canada’s roads the safest in the world. Second, the core objectives of the Road Safety Vision 2010 plan will continue as objectives in the successor plan. These are:

  • raising public awareness and commitment to road safety,
  • improving communication, cooperation and collaboration among all stakeholders,
  • enhancing enforcement,
  • improving road safety information in support of research and evaluation.

However, a number of key elements contribute to the Road Safety Strategy 2015’s uniqueness. These key elements are :

Flexibility: The strategy will be considerably more flexible than its predecessor.

The structure of the strategy is different as it provides more flexibility. The strategy outlines best practices and initiatives that jurisdictions will have the flexibility to adopt depending on their suitability, feasibility and acceptability within their respective operating environments. Each jurisdiction will develop and ‘own’ their respective road safety plans.

Holistic approach: The strategy will take a much more holistic approach to road safety.

The Road Safety Strategy is holistic in nature and provides a coordinated approach which includes initiatives to address road users, infrastructure and vehicles. This acknowledges the interdependencies that exist between drivers, roads and vehicle safety design, and will move the Road Safety Strategy 2015 to more of a “safe systems” framework. Indeed, the Road Safety Strategy represents the outcome of very strong collaboration between CCMTA and members of the Engineering Research and Support Committee (ERSC).

Targets: Hard percentage targets will not be established at the national level, progress will be measured at the national level using rate-based measures.

Unlike predecessor plans, the Road Safety Strategy will not include hard percentage based targets, but will seek to achieve directional downward trends in fatalities and serious injuries throughout its five-year duration. Downward trending will be measured using rate-based measures. Jurisdictions will continue to report fatalities and serious injuries to Transport Canada on an annual basis. A report on national progress of reducing fatalities and serious injuries will be produced using this rate-based measurement approach. While the Road Safety Strategy 2015 will not include hard quantitative targets like RSV 2010, it will not prevent individual jurisdictions, should they wish to do so, from establishing their own targets.

Best practices: Core to the strategy will be a framework of “best practice” strategies that jurisdictions may use to address key road safety areas and risk groups.

Core to the Road Safety Strategy is a framework of best practices designed to address key target groups and key contributing factors that drive fatalities and serious injuries on Canada’s roads. The framework has been developed and includes a variety of road safety initiatives that have proven to be effective in Canada and/or in other OECD countries based on a comprehensive environment scan undertaken by CCMTA. The nature of the framework is such that it will be a fluid document that will be regularly updated throughout its five-year duration as new road safety strategies are introduced in OECD countries or as existing strategies are evaluated and their effectiveness in reducing fatalities and serious injuries is established.

Ownership: While CCMTA led the development of the strategy and will manage it, each jurisdiction will “own” the strategy and will use the “best practice” framework to develop their own jurisdictional plans.

As custodian of the Road Safety Strategy, CCMTA, working through the jurisdictions and its committees and task forces, will be responsible for updating the Strategy. Given its fluid and proactive design, updates may include documenting progress made on new research projects undertaken, identifying new initiatives to be included in the multi-cell matrix of key target groups and contributing factors, revising the framework of proven best practice initiatives and reporting on its progress.

Timeframe: The strategy will have a shorter five-year timeframe.

The Road Safety Strategy has a five-year timeframe and a mid-term evaluation on its success will be conducted in year 3.

It is expected the Road Safety Strategy will inspire road safety stakeholders from all levels of government as well as key public and private sector stakeholders to work together towards the common goal of making Canada’s roads the safest in the world.

History

Since 1996, Canada has had a road safety vision of having “the safest roads in the world”. Jurisdictions, under the auspices of the Canadian Council of Motor Transport Administrators (CCMTA), along with other key stakeholders, such as police forces and road safety organizations, have been working towards this vision through the direction of road safety plans.  

Road Safety Vision 2001, Canada's inaugural national road safety vision and plan was adopted by the Council of Ministers Responsible for Transportation and Highway Safety in 1996. Under this plan, fatalities decreased by 10% while serious injuries declined by 16% despite steady increases in the road user population.

In October 2000, Road Safety Vision 2010 was approved by the Council of Ministers Responsible for Transportation and Highway Safety. It retained the vision and strategic objectives and added an overall national target and sub-targets. The quantitative targets were intended to provide road safety stakeholders with broad-based benchmark data of key road safety indicators, against which intervention efforts could be measured.

The national target called for a 30% decrease in the average number of road users killed and seriously injured during the 2008-2010 period over comparable 1996-2001 baseline figures. The sub-targets' proposed reductions ranged from 20% to 40%, to address the specific areas of occupant restraints, impaired driving, commercial vehicle safety, vulnerable road users, speed and intersection safety, rural roadways, young drivers and high-risk drivers.  It was expected the achievement of these targets would further reduce Canada's road fatality total to fewer than 2,100 by 2010.

As result of a mid-term review of the plan and evidence that indicated progress had stalled, jurisdictions made a concerted effort to accelerate the reduction of fatalities and serious injuries in the areas of greatest concern: curbing the incidence of drinking and driving, excessive speeding and non-use of seat belts. Recent indications suggest that progress has improved significantly. The 2007 fatalities were 6% lower than the baseline, while serious injuries were almost 15% lower.

Canada’s Road Safety Vision 2010 has also played a pivotal role in raising the profile of traffic safety concerns among the enforcement community. In their efforts to help achieve the objective of the vision, the enforcement community, for the most part, changed its traffic services delivery model from a random patrol enforcement strategy to a team service delivery model where data analysis is combined with education and enforcement strategies to address key causal factors through targeted enforcement.

Core to the strategy is a framework of best practices, consisting of a multi-cell matrix of key target groups and key highway safety issues or contributing factors, along with a variety of road safety initiatives that jurisdictions may adopt to address their specific priorities. Jurisdictions will have the flexibility to adopt these initiatives and strategies depending on their suitability, feasibility and acceptablity.

The Vision

Canada’s road safety stakeholders’ vision is to have the “safest roads in the world”. The vision is aspirational in nature and need not necessarily be achieved within the Road Safety Strategy’s timelines.

The report Towards Zero: Ambitious Road Safety Targets and the Safe System Approach, states “Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) and International Transport Forum (ITF) countries include a wide range of economies with large differences in their road safety performance. The best-performing countries have fatality rates of around 5-7 killed per 100,000 population.”

To place the vision of having the safest roads in context, the vision would result in Canada achieving a rate of 5 fatalities per 100,000 population. In 2007, there were 2,767 fatalities, which translates to a comparable fatality rate of 8.4 per 100,000 population. For Canada to achieve a target of 5 fatalities or less per 100,000 population would have required a further reduction of 1,120 fatalities in 2007.

This national vision represents Canada’s desire to strive towards being a world leader in road safety. While this vision may not be achieved over the short term, it highlights the desire for the best possible road safety outcomes for all Canadian jurisdictions.

The Road Safety Strategy’s vision is intended to inspire road safety stakeholders from all levels of government and key public and private sector stakeholders to work together towards the common objective of making road travel in Canada safer. The vision can best be achieved through the implementation of initiatives that are consistent with its four strategic objectives.

Nationally, the Strategy serves as an impetus to CCMTA’s standing committees, task forces and working groups to collaborate in the development and implementation of numerous initiatives and focused interventions aimed at improving Canada’s level of road safety.

Principles

The development of the Road Safety Strategy 2015 is based on key guiding principles, including: year-over-year downward trends in fatalities and serious injuries, safer systems concepts, a five-year timeframe, a continuation of collision reporting by province/territory, and a framework of best practices.

Downward Trends

The Road Safety Strategy seeks to achieve directional downward trends in the rate-based number of fatalities and serious injuries - successes against which will be measured at the national level on a yearly basis, rather than the actual fatalities and serious injuries as with RSV 2010. Trending will be measured using rolling averages to smooth out short-term fluctuations, since year-over-year reductions may not be practical or attainable. Two rate-based indicators are commonly used internationally: fatalities (or serious injuries) per million population; and fatalities (or serious injuries) per billion kilometres travelled.

Although the national strategy does not include hard quantitative targets, this will not preclude individual jurisdictions from establishing such targets when there is government, law enforcement and/or road safety stakeholder support for doing do.

Safer Systems Concept

The Road Safety Strategy is holistic in nature and provides a coordinated “safer systems” approach that includes strategies to target road users, vehicles and infrastructure. This “safer systems concept” is an effective means to bring all stakeholders together by recognizing the interdependencies that exist between these elements. It incorporates “safer systems concepts” rather than a “safe systems approach”, which traditionally involves very significant long-term investments over a protracted period of time.

Five-Year Timeframe

The term for the Road Safety Strategy is five years rather than ten years and could be renewed or extended. A shorter timeframe will help build and maintain momentum for jurisdictional initiatives throughout the life of the Road Safety Strategy.

Statistical Reporting

Jurisdictions will continue to report fatalities and serious injuries to Transport Canada on an annual basis and these data will be used to produce a report on national progress in reducing fatalities and serious injuries using rate-based indicators.

Best Practices

Core to the Road Safety Strategy is a framework of best practices. The framework  consists of a multi-cell matrix of key target groups and contributing factors, along with a variety of road safety initiatives that jurisdictions may adopt to address their specific priorities. Jurisdictions will have the flexibility to adopt specific strategies depending on their suitability, feasibility (i.e.: resources) and acceptability (i.e.: operating environment).

The framework of best practices is intended to be fluid, meaning that new target groups, contributing factors and suggested initiatives and strategies can be added to the Road Safety Strategy over time, depending on the needs identified by jurisdictional members and research of best practices in other OECD member countries.